Skittles were (and still are) one of the sweets that you remember from your childhood. Who wouldn’t eat your least favourite colour first and save well at least i did the red and purple Skittles for last because I thought they tasted better. But what do people who have dietary restrictions do? Are Skittles gluten-free? I wanted to find out so my gluten-intolerant friends and I can (hopefully) enjoy the colour of the rainbow with me.
Originally created in the UK, Skittles were first imported into the US in 1979. They were similar to chocolate M&M’s in that they had a colourful exterior, but Skittles had a totally different flavor. In 1982, as the candy became more popular throughout the country, they started being manufactured in the US.Due to its growing popularity, new Skittles products were created the following years, such as sour Skittles, tropical flavoured Skittles, and bubble gum-like Skittles.
So lets get to the question Are skittles gluten free? Yes, Skittles are gluten-free and gelatin-free. They proudly print this on the back of each Skittles wrapper. But, let’s go over the ingredient list anyway.
Skittles contain the following ingredients: Sugar, corn syrup, hydrogenated palm kernel oil; less than 2% of: Citric Acid, Tapioca Dextrin, Modified Corn Starch, Natural and Artificial Flavors, food colouring, sodium citrate, and carnauba wax.
Although the list is long, none of these ingredients contain gluten. You may think that corn syrup and corn starch have gluten, but they do not. This is the reason why they’re often used as substitutes for flour in gluten-free recipes.
Now that we know Skittles are gluten-free, those of you with dietary restrictions can freely reach for the candy without worrying about how it will affect you (except for a massive sugar rush, that is!).