Is baking powder gluten free? – Gluten free baking recipes frequently ask for “gluten free” baking powder, and some baking powders are labelled “gluten free” so why is that?
We will run through what’s in baking powder so you can be fully aware when shopping.
Firstly lets clear something up, not all brands of baking powder are gluten free.
Baking powder is made from baking soda, cream of tartar (a by-product of wine production) and a “moisture absorption agent” which is usually, but not always, cornstarch.
Other starches including potato starch (gluten free) and wheat starch (contains gluten) can be used in baking powder products. Therefore, not all brands of baking powder are gluten-free.
Product freshness is extremely important when using baking powder. Unlike baking soda, which has an indefinite shelf life, baking powder is only good for 6 months to a year because of its sensitivity to moisture and humidity.
Baking powder is a “leavening agent,” which means it helps baked goods rise.
Old, inactive baking powder won’t give baked goods the necessary lift as active, fresh baking powder. We can’t have flat as a pancake cookies! Always check the expiration date on the tin before buying baking powder.