Is Canadian Club Gluten Free? Well most experts in coeliac disease have concluded that distilled alcoholic beverages made from gluten grains—including whiskey, commonly made from barley are in fact gluten free (at least to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration’s standard of less than 20 parts per million).
From Coeliac Australia – “All alcohol is gluten free with the exception of beer. This means anything from bourbon to tequila, sparkling wines, spirits, port, sherry and even cider, in moderation, is safe as part of a gluten free diet. Listing ingredients on alcoholic products is not mandatory. For those missing beer, gluten free options are available in Australia. Look for the Billabong Brewing gluten free beer range, which is endorsed by Coeliac Australia. You could also try O’Brien Beer and Schnitzer Brau (imported by Blackwood Lane).”