fbpx
LOADING

Type to search

Is corn flour gluten free?

Is corn flour gluten free?

Share

Is corn flour gluten free?

Indeed corn flour is gluten free, corn in its natural state is 100% gluten free. Even so, be safe and always be on the lookout for gluten in corn that comes in a sauce or with any other ingredients, as they may contain the protein.

There are other variations of corn that can be eaten on a gluten-free diet. Along with plain corn, people with coeliac disease commonly ask if the follow are gluten-free:

  • Cornstarch
  • Corn flour
  • Hominy
  • Cornmeal

Cornstarch 
Cornstarch is gluten-free in its natural form. Cornstarch is made by grinding up the starchy (carbohydrate) portion of a corn grain and turning it into a very fine powder. Cornstarch is typically used as a thickener for soups, sauces, gravy and stews. It’s also used in pre-made gluten-free flour blends because it creates a smoother texture.

Corn Flour 
Just like corn starch, corn flour is gluten-free in its natural form. It has a light, finer texture when used in baked goods. Whenever possible, buy corn flour that is labeled gluten-free, as it is possible for cross-contact to occur during the manufacturing process.

Cornmeal
Cornmeal is also gluten-free. Cornmeal is a coarse flour made from maize, (i.e. corn). Just like cornflour, it’s important to look for labeled gluten-free cornmeal whenever possible, as cross-contact can easily occur during manufacturing.

Hominy 
Hominy is a product of corn and is gluten-free. Hominy is made from dried corn kernels which are then soaked in a lime bath or lye bath. It’s used in many different products, like tortillas, for example.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *