fbpx
LOADING

Type to search

Is couscous gluten free

Is couscous gluten free

Share

Is couscous gluten free

Straight up I will tell you to avoid Couscous if you are on a Gluten Free Diet

Couscous looks a little like pasta and a little like rice but it is made from grains of durum wheat, making it most definitely not gluten-free.

Any dish that contains couscous is off-limits to you when following a gluten-free diet because you have coeliac disease or non-coeliac gluten sensitivity. However, as more and more common gluten foods are being adapted, you can find gluten-free couscous products. They’re certainly not plentiful, however, so you may end up with a substitute.

You’ll find couscous in many Middle Eastern and Mediterranean cuisines, especially in salads and some stews. Beware of couscous served in restaurants unless it’s explicitly marketed as gluten free.

Previous Article
Next Article

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *