fbpx
LOADING

Type to search

Is there gluten in licorice – Plant/Root

Is there gluten in licorice – Plant/Root

Share

Is there gluten in licorice – Plant/Root – Straight to the answer and that is there is no gluten in Licorice root.

The most recognized part of licorice is its root that contains an anti-inflammatory sweet tasting agent called glycyrrhizic acid.

The amazingly simple Gluten free Play Dough recipe

The presence of gluten in content of licorice confectionery depends on the recipe used to produce licorice candies, hence if you use the cornstarch recipe, the final product does consist of gluten, among the other components.

Notice that the pure extract of licorice does not contain gluten.

Row of black licorice and one red licorice.

There is no gluten in Licorice root. Many of the candies do contain gluten. There are gluten free Molasses Licorice cconfectionery that do not contain gluten. You can find these on health food sites and Celiac shopping sites.

Licorice root does not contain any gluten. If you are interested in licorice confectionery, however, many of those are wheat-based. Wheat does contain gluten.

3 Comments

  1. Kym August 22, 2018

    Hey Jody, have you found a tasty licorice that we can eat?

    Reply
    1. The Gluten Free Mumma August 23, 2018

      Check out these guys out, if you find one that you love, make sure you let us all know, thanks for stopping by Kym.

      https://thelicoriceshop.com.au/collections/gluten-free

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *