fbpx
LOADING

Type to search

Is there gluten in Teriyaki?

Is there gluten in Teriyaki?

Share

Is there gluten in Teriyaki?

Teriyaki sauces are traditionally made with a mix of soy sauce, mirin and sake. Mirin and sake are both types of Japanese alcohol made with rice. However, sauces in the United States often don’t contain these alcohols, but instead contain some form of sugar, since mirin is a relatively high-sugar alcohol, giving a traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce a sweet taste. Teriyaki sauces may also include other ingredients including vinegar, green onions, ginger, garlic or other spices.

Ready-made sauces are often sources of hidden gluten. The most common source of gluten in teriyaki sauce is the soy sauce. Most soy sauces, unless labelled gluten free, contain wheat as well as soybeans, salt and water. However, commercially available teriyaki sauces may also include gluten-containing additives. Homemade or restaurant sauces with less traditional ingredients could contain other sources of gluten as well, since these sauces sometimes contain flour or other ingredients for thickening.

Check manufacturer’s websites or call them to verify if their teriyaki or soy sauces are gluten free if this isn’t clear on the packages. It’s best to avoid risking accidentally consuming gluten, since even a small amount cause problems if you suffer from coeliac disease. It’s unlikely that the teriyaki sauce you find in restaurants is gluten-free, so fulfil your cravings for teriyaki by making it at home where you can control the ingredients.

To me, teriyaki sauce has always been something that you buy in a bottle at the grocery store. And it’s high time that I turn that kind of thinking around!

Review: Yoodles noodle cups


Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups cold water
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce*
  • 1 tsp garlic powder or granulated garlic
  • 3 Tbsp corn starch
  • 1 tsp sesame oil

Directions

Add the water, brown sugar, soy sauce, garlic powder, corn starch, and sesame oil to a saucepan. Whisk well and place on your stove over medium heat.

Whisk the mixture continually while cooking, until the sauce has thickened and the color has darkened.

Remove the sauce from heat, and transfer to an airtight container. Keep in your fridge for up to one week.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *